Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

British Speedway : National League Last Updated: Jul 17th, 2014 - 18:24:19

Oxford Speedway: Cheetahs to return to Premier League?
By Admin
Dec 1, 2007, 16:36

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

News has begun to filter out from the British Speedway Promoters Association AGM which is currently taking place in Coventry and ends tomorrow (Sunday).

And the most important news so far from Oxford's point of view is that the Premier League have agreed to allow Cheetahs owner Allen Trump a limited amount of time to try to secure a deal with their Cowley stadium landlords, the GRA for a return of senior racing to the city.

Providing that such an agreement can be reached, and naturally everyone hopes that it can be,  the Cheetahs will line up alongside 17 other certain starters in the 2008 Premier League. The line-up of clubs will then read Berwick, Birmingham, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Isle of Wight, King's Lynn, Mildenhall, Newcastle, Newport, Oxford, Reading, Redcar, Rye House, Scunthorpe, Sheffield, Somerset, Stoke, Workington.
Reading are moving down from the Elite League and the BSPA have also accepted an application from Scunthorpe.

Premier League clubs will be allowed to build up their seven man sides up to a combined maximum points limit of 41.5 in terms of riders averages. 

Elite League chiefs have introduced a new points limit to govern team strengths with the aim of providing a greater parity throughout the nine clubs.

Champions Coventry will defend their title against Belle Vue, Eastbourne, Ipswich, Lakeside, Peterborough, Poole, Swindon and Wolverhampton.

Transfer speculation will increase with the new limit in the Elite League being set at 38.85 as clubs look to build their side with the aim of reaching the top four, and the top-flight play-offs.

Promotion and relegation between the top two leagues will be introduced, with further details to be revealed at the culmination of the conference on Sunday.

Sheffield's Neil Machin has decided to end his time on Management Committee, and has been replaced by the vastly-experienced Alex Harkess of Edinburgh. Pete Toogood remains Chairman for a fourth season, with Wolverhampton and Redcar chief Chris Van Straaten staying as vice-chairman, and other members Colin Pratt (Coventry) and Dave Pavitt (Isle of Wight) keep their seats.

The conference will end on Sunday, and a further statement, including the comments of chairman Toogood, will be issued that evening.

© Copyright

Top of Page

National League
More News
Cradley Speedway: Heathens sieze control
Cradley Speedway: Heathens seize control
Cradley Speedway: Rivals clash tonight.
Cradley Speedway: Pottinger calls for Heathens to show class.
Rye House Speedway: Halsey Wins 2014 NLRC
Mildenhall Speedway: Halsey Wins NLRC for Fen Tigers.
Cradley Speedway: Worrall second in 2014 National League Riders' Championship.
Scunthorpe Speedway: Moggo in for NLRC.
Cradley Speedway: Heathens to face Kings.
Cradley Speedway: Inquiry welcomed.
Cradley Speedway: Heathens through to KoC final.
Coventry Speedway: Storm knocked out.
Cradley Speedway: Heathens face crucial spell.
Cradley Speedway: Play-off rained off.
Cradley Speedway: Birhday boy looks for big lead.
Rye House Speedway: Preview: 2014 National League Riders’ Championship.
Cradley Speedway: Play-off preview.
Mildenhall Speedway: Fen Tigers win 2014 National Trophy.
Castleford Speedway: Ammended MDL result and Final two NJL Results.
Mildenhall Speedway: National Trophy Final.