Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

New Zealand Speedway Last Updated: Mar 10th, 2016 - 19:03:06

New Zealand Speedway: Bunyan Takes Out GP 2016.
By Admin
Mar 10, 2016, 19:01

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Jason Bunyan added the NZ GP to his portfolio this year at Moore Park.

Earlier in the year at Rosebank, Bunyan broke the long standing New Zealand Championship record held by Larry Ross when he clocked up his tenth New Zealand solo title win. He was seemly untroubled to win this with Bradley Wilson Dean coming home second ahead of Sean Mason.

His GP win was similar. A disappointing field was reduced even further on the day with the withdrawal of Dale Finch and Grant Tregoning plus bike problems ruling out Jake Turner from the GP proper on the say. Considering a League meeting was held the weekend before at Oreti and this meeting was scheduled with that in mind  to try and catch competitors while they were in the South Island, it does not bode well for Solos in NZ at present .

The GP was rearranged with qualifying races to find the top four competitors who then raced over three heats. Bunyan was untroubled to win all three and overall, Andrew Aldridge came home second after two good seconds to Bunyan in the second and third heat while the two local boys, Ryan Moss and Konner McCluskey Young faced a run off for third. Young had bike problems on the line and could not get away, a not so good day as tape infringement exclusion put him out of heat two. Moss earned his third place as these two were evenly matched on the day.

Non Qualifiers racing was headed by Jake Gillespie from Oreti who just held out last year’s junior, George Congreve from Jake Turner who managed to borrow one of Bunyan’s bikes for the support racing. Wayne Drake completed the field and finally got a good run in the final heat.

It was the turn of Clark Fountain, Caleb Whalley, Oscar Drake and Frankie Ray Lei Lièvre to head the junior section this week. Oscar Drake has a new mate in the form of Chase Lang who is quickly adapting in the Pee Wee class.

Sidecar support was as entertaining as ever where we saw Lionel Green and Shane Breach head the field home overall with Bevan Nuttridge and Brodon Johnston coming in ahead of Wayne and Damien Bryce. Mike Warwood and Stephen Burrow made the A final but it was the Bryce’s win in the B final from Dave Green and Sam Elliot with Oreti’s Jamie Pocklington and Nathan Cannan in third, which kept the pressure on Warwood and Burrow in the feature race.   

Media: Warrick Korstanje 02/03/2016

© Copyright

Top of Page

New Zealand Speedway
More News
New Zealand Speedway: Bunyan Takes Out GP 2016.
New Zealand Speedway: New Zealand Sidecar Championship. Piglets Bring Home The Bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Sidecar teams challenge at Moore Park. Round 1, Korstanje Shield.
New Zealand Speedway: Shuttleworth Defies Odds To Become Champion.
New Zealand Speedway: NSL Canterbury Comets vs Auckland Rhinos.
New Zealand Speedway: Gillespie retains Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Favorites Upstaged At Peter Blick Memorial.
New Zealand Speedway: Moore Park Season Wraps Up.
New Zealand Speedway: Prestigious Sidecar Title On The Line.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr And Poole Continue Sidecar Dominance.
New Zealand Speedway: Tregoning Eyes 8th Southland Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr, Poole And Oreti Park Dominate South Island Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Primed For South Island Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Piglets bring home the bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Parks Final Salute To The Sarjeant.
New Zealand Speedway: Buchanan Dominant In Championship Win.
New Zealand Speedway: In Form Youngster Has Championship In Sight.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Speedway - Southland Sidecar Championships.
New Zealand Speedway: Sarjeant wins 2015 New Zealand Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Hamburger Transport Canterbury Comets Vs Newfield Autos Southland Outlaws