Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

New Zealand Speedway Last Updated: Nov 25th, 2015 - 10:52:00

New Zealand Speedway: Gillespie retains Title.
By Admin
Nov 25, 2015, 10:50

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Fraser and Johnny Gillespie successfully defended their title at the Moore Park opening meeting.

Their run through qualifying was straightforward with three wins. The Oreti pair were the only ones to head off the local combination of Dave Green and Bevin Nuttridge in heat two. Nelsonís Brent Steer and Kyle Ball were on fire early but when they came up against Clint Warwood and Sonya Duncan and another local combination of Calvin Ashworth and Nigel Manderson; their good early points haul suffered when they came home third.  They had enough points though to qualify direct to the final with Gillespie and Green.

The B final was where the final contender had to inspire to make it. Warwood, Liam Stockman and Blair Lock, Nelsonís Daniel Satherley and Tony McKenzie were nearly all evenly paired with Ashworth on qualifying points. It was a very happy Ashworth and Manderson who headed the field home earning a final berth after a strong battle.
Gillespie was using his experience and clearly demonstrated this during the heats when he held some of his counterparts wide at the start unabling them from making a fast ride around them in the first turn.

The final was promising as Steer and Warwood indicated they would give Gillespie more than an even run. A tape infringement robbed us of an impending challenge when Steer was put out. Gillespie made the start from Warwood and while they were chased hard, they kept the race under control to retain the Battle of the Twins title. Warwood second from Ashworth.

The supporting multi field ending up being dominated by Oreti Park riders when top qualifier Shaun Kerr and Robin Poole held out Scott Ayto and Dylan Carnie from Luke Thwaites and Neville Chalmers. Wayne and Damien Bryce made the cut flying the local flag.

Andy Aldridge dominated the solo section but a DNF in heat four gave Oretiís Jake Gillespie the overall top tally by one point. Wellearned for consistent riding. Third home was Ryan Moss who also dropped a race while George Congreve rode steady and well in his first senior ride at Moore Park just one point behind.

Junior classes were headed by Frankie Ray Lelieve Pee Wee, Blake Moyle 125 class and Ben Whalley 200 class.

A good opening meeting where the Battle of the Twins has become a sort after title to win. Moore Park debuted its air fence for the opening meeting and certainly adds some a safety aspect and class to the track with some appreciated sponsors banners on display.    

Media: Warrick Korstanje November 2015.

© Copyright

Top of Page

New Zealand Speedway
More News
New Zealand Speedway: Bunyan Takes Out GP 2016.
New Zealand Speedway: New Zealand Sidecar Championship. Piglets Bring Home The Bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Sidecar teams challenge at Moore Park. Round 1, Korstanje Shield.
New Zealand Speedway: Shuttleworth Defies Odds To Become Champion.
New Zealand Speedway: NSL Canterbury Comets vs Auckland Rhinos.
New Zealand Speedway: Gillespie retains Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Favorites Upstaged At Peter Blick Memorial.
New Zealand Speedway: Moore Park Season Wraps Up.
New Zealand Speedway: Prestigious Sidecar Title On The Line.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr And Poole Continue Sidecar Dominance.
New Zealand Speedway: Tregoning Eyes 8th Southland Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr, Poole And Oreti Park Dominate South Island Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Primed For South Island Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Piglets bring home the bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Parks Final Salute To The Sarjeant.
New Zealand Speedway: Buchanan Dominant In Championship Win.
New Zealand Speedway: In Form Youngster Has Championship In Sight.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Speedway - Southland Sidecar Championships.
New Zealand Speedway: Sarjeant wins 2015 New Zealand Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Hamburger Transport Canterbury Comets Vs Newfield Autos Southland Outlaws