Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

Speedway Grand Prix Last Updated: Nov 24th, 2015 - 19:59:31

Speedway Grand Prix: 2016 FIM Speedway Grand Prix rider numbers confirmed.
By Admin
Nov 24, 2015, 19:58

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
World champion Tai Woffinden retains No.108 for his title defence as the 2016 FIM Speedway Grand Prix riding numbers are revealed.

The Great Britain star becomes the second straight world champion to elect not to wear the No.1 race jacket after 2014 champion Greg Hancock raced with his famous No.45 this year.

Woffinden opted to ride as No.1 after winning his first World Championship in 2013. But he sticks with the number gleaned from his date of birth – August 10 – this time around.

Kjærgaard Danish SGP winner Peter Kildemand lines up with his own No.25 for his full SGP debut season in 2016 after great success in the No.19 first-reserve race jacket that carried him to ninth spot this year.

His fellow wild card Antonio Lindback is No.85, while GP Challenge winner Bartosz Zmarzlik chose No.95 – meaning both men picked their year of birth.

Polish qualifier Piotr Pawlicki lines up in the highest riding number of all after choosing No.777.

All of the other rider numbers are unchanged. Hancock retains No.45 in homage to American icon Bruce Penhall.

Triple world champion Nicki Pedersen remains as No.3 after opting to use his ranking number once again – making him the only full-time SGP rider without a personal riding number.

Niels-Kristian Iversen, whose lucky number is eight, goes for No.88 and Aussie champ Jason Doyle sticks with No.69.

Slovenian star Matej Zagar, born on May 5, goes for No.55, while Maciej Janowski remains No.71.

Former world champion Chris Holder sticks with No.23 – the number he was given in his junior racing days – and Andreas Jonsson keeps No.100. Britain’s Chris Harris retains No.37, his late father Cedric’s grasstrack number, while Jaroslaw Hampel is still No.33.

In a first for 2016, the series reserves have also been able to pick their riding numbers. First reserve Fredrik Lindgren dons his No.66, while Michael Jepsen Jensen keeps No.52.

Third stand-in Vaclav Milik from the Czech Republic opted not to select a riding number and is allocated his ranking number, No.21.

2016 FIM SPEEDWAY GRAND PRIX RIDING NUMBERS (with ranking number in brackets):

108 (1) Tai Woffinden (Great Britain)
45 (2) Greg Hancock (United States)
3 (3) Nicki Pedersen (Denmark)
88 (4) Niels-Kristian Iversen (Denmark)
69 (5) Jason Doyle (Australia)
55 (6) Matej Zagar (Slovenia)
71 (7) Maciej Janowski (Poland)
23 (8) Chris Holder (Australia)
25 (9) Peter Kildemand (Denmark)
100 (10) Andreas Jonsson (Sweden)
37 (11) Chris Harris (Great Britain)
33 (12) Jaroslaw Hampel (Poland)
95 (13) Bartosz Zmarzlik (Poland)
777 (14) Piotr Pawlicki (Poland)
85 (15) Antonio Lindback (Sweden)

66 (19) Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden)
52 (20) Michael Jepsen Jensen (Denmark)
21 (21) Vaclav Milik (Czech Republic)

© Copyright

Top of Page

Speedway Grand Prix
More News
Speedway Grand Prix: QBE Insurance Australia become Australian FIM Speedway Grand Prix title sponsor.
Speedway Grand Prix: Krsko star Denis Stojs named Slovenian FIM Speedway Grand Prix wild card.
Speedway Grand Prix: FIM Speedway Grand Prix World Championship Qualifying Meetings 2016 Calendar, updated 4 March.
Speedway Grand Prix: 2016 FIM Speedway Grand Prix rider numbers confirmed.
Speedway Grand Prix: 2016 FIM Speedway Grand Prix and Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup calendars confirmed.
Speedway Grand Prix: BT Sport signs up as exclusive broadcaster of FIM Speedway World Championships.
Speedway Grand Prix: FIM Speedway Grand Prix racing returns to Germany in 2016.
Speedway Grand Prix: 2016 SGP wild cards revealed.
Speedway Grand Prix: Crowd of 25,000 welcomes Speedway GP back to Australia.
Speedway Grand Prix: British hero Tai Woffinden targets back-to-back FIM Speedway World Championship.
Speedway Grand Prix: Herbie goes bananas in Melbourne
Speedway Grand Prix: Masters gets the taste for Etihad Stadium GP circuit.
Speedway Grand Prix: Etihad locked and loaded for 2015 DON Smallgoods Australian FIM Speedway GP.
Speedway Grand Prix: Meet the rider: Tai Woffinden.
Speedway Grand Prix: Meet the rider: Jason Doyle.
Speedway Grand Prix: Meet the rider: Troy Batchelor
Speedway Grand Prix: Meet the rider: Chris Holder
Speedway Grand Prix: Motor insurance brokers Adrian Flux named British SGP title sponsor in three-year deal.
Speedway Grand Prix: LOTTO Warsaw FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland returns in 2016.
Speedway Grand Prix: Great Britain hero Tai Woffinden seals FIM Speedway World Championship No.2 in Torun.