Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

New Zealand Speedway Last Updated: Jan 25th, 2015 - 10:11:18

New Zealand Speedway: Buchanan Dominant In Championship Win.
By Admin
Jan 25, 2015, 10:09

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
He may only be eight but Cormac Buchanan showed experience and talent well beyond his years to claim his maiden Southland Peewee Solo title at the Russell Cunningham Oreti Park Speedway on Saturday night.

The massive crowd were treated to some action packed racing across all the classes as they basked in the sunshine, but it was on the small inner oval that Buchanan was showing his dominance scoring four wins in the heat racing to head into the four bike final unbeaten. Nick Olphert looked to be Buchanans main threat to the championship winning his first two heats and comfortably leading the third until he had a nasty spill, causing him not to finish and dashing his hopes to make the final.

With Olphert out it opened the door for Mason Coulthard to make the final alongside Laughlan McIntyre and second top points scorer Dakota Crengle, as the tapes went up in the final Buchanan shot out to an early lead as the other three finalists battled it out for the minors, in the third lap as Buchanan had one hand on the Southland Title, McIntyre and Crengle collided resulting in a restart and Crengle eliminated from the final for his part in the incident.

The restart got underway in the same fashion with Buchanan fast out of the blocks and racing out to a handy lead, Mcintyre battled wheel to wheel with Coulthard for second but as the chequred flag came down Oreti Park crowned a new champion, and Buchanan had done the job and won the title hes worked so hard to get, McIntyre rode well for second to hold off a fast finishing Coulthard in third.

The Oreti Park club also had reason to celebrate with the Southland Outlaws disposing of the Auckland Rhinos in the National Solo League, claiming the teams first victory of the season in a must win match up after both teams suffered heavy losses to the Canterbury Comets in Christchurch.

The Outlaws made thier intentions clear early with James Sargent and Hayden Sims banking maximum points in heat one followed by Grant Tregoning claiming first in heat two. The points kept accumulating as Jack McRae joint Sims to score maximum points as did team captain Tregoning and Sargent putting the Outlaws out to a comanding twelve point lead, but the Rhinos were determined not to let the match pass them by and impressive rides by Bradley Wilson-Dean and Dylan Hancock closed the gap slightly before they played thier Wildcard, giving them the right to put thier best rider in any heat and earn double points.

The Rhinos put Wilson-Dean out in heat nine and he dominated the race despite McRae pushing as hard as he could to put the match out of reach, this bought the overall scores to within three points in Southlands favor, with only two heats remaining. Southland shrugged off the pressure and Sargent and Sims once again banked maximum points, in heat ten, and Sargent repeated the dose in the final to bring the Southland Outlaws home 44 - 33, they now have the chance to head to the top of the points table alongside Canterbury, if they can beat the Rhinos in Auckland next weekend.

In support classes it was Canterbury pairing Lionel Green and Shane Breech who won the sidecar final, the pairing finding some good form heading into the South Island Championship in Invercargill next month. Southland pairing Shaun Kerr and Robin Poole were dominant in the sidecars winning all four heats but unable to front up in the final due to overheating issues, a problem they will be wanting to issue prior to the championship.

Jake Gillespie won all four Solo Support races, Phil Coulthard won B Grade Solos, Les Payne Classic Solos and Hayden Brookland Junior Solos.

By and with thanks to Daryl Shuttleworth.


Top of Page

New Zealand Speedway
More News
New Zealand Speedway: Bunyan Takes Out GP 2016.
New Zealand Speedway: New Zealand Sidecar Championship. Piglets Bring Home The Bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Sidecar teams challenge at Moore Park. Round 1, Korstanje Shield.
New Zealand Speedway: Shuttleworth Defies Odds To Become Champion.
New Zealand Speedway: NSL Canterbury Comets vs Auckland Rhinos.
New Zealand Speedway: Gillespie retains Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Favorites Upstaged At Peter Blick Memorial.
New Zealand Speedway: Moore Park Season Wraps Up.
New Zealand Speedway: Prestigious Sidecar Title On The Line.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr And Poole Continue Sidecar Dominance.
New Zealand Speedway: Tregoning Eyes 8th Southland Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr, Poole And Oreti Park Dominate South Island Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Primed For South Island Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Piglets bring home the bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Parks Final Salute To The Sarjeant.
New Zealand Speedway: Buchanan Dominant In Championship Win.
New Zealand Speedway: In Form Youngster Has Championship In Sight.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Speedway - Southland Sidecar Championships.
New Zealand Speedway: Sarjeant wins 2015 New Zealand Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Hamburger Transport Canterbury Comets Vs Newfield Autos Southland Outlaws