Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

New Zealand Speedway Last Updated: Jan 5th, 2015 - 10:23:43

New Zealand Speedway: Sarjeant wins 2015 New Zealand Championship.
By Admin
Jan 5, 2015, 10:10

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
English rider James Sarjeant won the 2015 New Zealand Solo Championship raced at Moore Park Speedway – West Melton on Saturday in a brilliant final by less than a bike length from Invercargill’s Hayden Sims from Dale Finch and Andy Aldridge, both from Christchurch.

Sarjeant, aged 21 is racing out of Invercargill’s Oreti track over the summer as part of Interprovincial teams league series had to pull out all the stops to defeat Sims who impressed and almost pulled of what would be been a stunning sensational victory in what was his debut senior NZ Final

Sims was the only rider to go through the qualifying heats undefeated with the 18 years old inflicting the first of two defeats by the defending champion, Jason Bunyan who was chasing a record 10 national title. In the final Sims, from gate four blasted around the outside of Aldridge to lead coming out of the first turn with closely followed by Finch and Sarjeant. The latter quickly accounted for both the local riders to trail Sims after the first of the four laps. The two leaders were locked together at half distant and raced side by side for the next lap with Sarjeant managing to take the lead on the back straight for the final time with Sims trying to force his way back in front on the outside line with Sarjeant going on to win by the half a metre with Finch getting by Aldridge on lap three to claim third place.

Eighteen year old Sims second placing must now be among the front runner in the selectors mind for New Zealand spot for the World Under 21 qualifiers to be raced in Europe later in the year after finishing in third place in the recently run NZ Under 21 title with the Invercargill rider heading off to England after Easter to try his luck and hopefully force his way into a spot a team.

Bunyan who is tied with Christchurch Larry Ross with nine titles, looked set to reach the final when holding a close second place to Sarjeant the second semi-final only to be force to retire when the lead came away from the top of the spark plug cap to bring to an end a eleven year sequence of finishing on the rostrum for the blue ribbon event., with his nine wins coming in three blocks of three wins in a row then a gap.    

Results 2015 New Zealand Solo Championships – Riders from Christchurch unless stated.

Qualifying Points: Sims 9, Finch 8, Sarjeant 8, Aldridge 7, Bunyan 7, Terry-Daley 6, Tocher 6, Tregoning 6, Moss 5, McCluskey-Young 3, Stockton 3, McRae 3, Cox 1, Wayne Drake 0, Glen Sole 0.

Repercharge 1. Moss 1, Tocher 2, McRae 3. 67.6

Repercharge 2. Tregoning 1, McCluskey-Young 2, Stockton 3. 67.2

Semi-Final 1. Aldridge 1, Sims 2, Moss 3. 66.2

Semi-Final 2. Sarjeant 1, Finch 2. Tregoning retired, Bunyan e/f. 63.9

Final. Sarjeant 1, Simms 2, Finch 3, Aldridge 4. 63.4

With thanks to Gavin Searle.

© Copyright

Top of Page

New Zealand Speedway
More News
New Zealand Speedway: Bunyan Takes Out GP 2016.
New Zealand Speedway: New Zealand Sidecar Championship. Piglets Bring Home The Bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Sidecar teams challenge at Moore Park. Round 1, Korstanje Shield.
New Zealand Speedway: Shuttleworth Defies Odds To Become Champion.
New Zealand Speedway: NSL Canterbury Comets vs Auckland Rhinos.
New Zealand Speedway: Gillespie retains Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Favorites Upstaged At Peter Blick Memorial.
New Zealand Speedway: Moore Park Season Wraps Up.
New Zealand Speedway: Prestigious Sidecar Title On The Line.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr And Poole Continue Sidecar Dominance.
New Zealand Speedway: Tregoning Eyes 8th Southland Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Kerr, Poole And Oreti Park Dominate South Island Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Primed For South Island Title.
New Zealand Speedway: Piglets bring home the bacon.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Parks Final Salute To The Sarjeant.
New Zealand Speedway: Buchanan Dominant In Championship Win.
New Zealand Speedway: In Form Youngster Has Championship In Sight.
New Zealand Speedway: Oreti Park Speedway - Southland Sidecar Championships.
New Zealand Speedway: Sarjeant wins 2015 New Zealand Championship.
New Zealand Speedway: Hamburger Transport Canterbury Comets Vs Newfield Autos Southland Outlaws