Advertise on
 Speedway Fans Social Network
 Speedway News Feed
 British Speedway
 Elite League
 Premier League
 National League
 Speedway Grand Prix
 Speedway World Cup
 World Junior Speedway Championship
 American Speedway
 Australian Speedway
 Canadian Speedway
 Danish Speedway
 Eastern European Speedway
 German Speedway
 Hungarian/Austrian Speedway
 Italian Speedway
 New Zealand Speedway
 Norwegian Speedway
 Polish Speedway
 South African Speedway
 Swedish Speedway
 Speedway Books and Games
 Miscellaneous Speedway
 Grass Track Racing
 Long Track Racing
 Short Track Racing
 Ice Speedway
 Sidecar Speedway
 Cycle Speedway
 Flat Track Racing
 Dirt Track Racing
 Speedway Links
 Speedway Best Pairs
 Speedway European Championship
 About this site
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Privacy Policy

Dirt Track Racing Last Updated: Jul 17th, 2014 - 17:56:14

Dirt Track Racing: Dirt Track Stars Head To Taree.
By Admin
Jun 6, 2014, 10:33

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Over 110 competitors will head to the mid-North Coast of New South Wales this weekend for the 2014 Ausmulch Australian Senior Dirt Track Championships.

The Taree Motor Cycle Club will host the title meeting, staged over two days, this Saturday and Sunday, June 7 and 8 at the Old Bar track. It will be the first time the club, and venue, has hosted this championship since 1966.

With a number of riders on both two-wheel and four-wheel (ATV) machines entering more than one class there will over 130 bikes in the pits.

A total of 105 races are programmed, with practice at 10am on Saturday and racing continuing until 4pm. Again on Sunday racing starts at 10am culminating with the finals and presentations in the afternoon.

There will be five championship classes for solo machines – the Under 19s, Pro 250, Pro 450, Pro Open and Womens – as well as the Dirt Track Sidecars, ATV Pro and ATV Open.

All Championship classes will be decided over 3 rounds of heats, with top 10 solos (top 5 sidecars and ATVs) direct to final, the next 12 solos (6 sidecars and ATVs) to a repechage from which  only the top 2 solos (winner only from sidecars and ATVs) qualify for the final.

All Championships will then be decided by a single 4-lap FINAL.
Qualifying for the final, or even the repechage, will not come easy for competitors, such is the quantity and quality of the entry list in each class.
That means that machine failures or crashes will most likely be punished by riders not progressing through to the deciders.

Consistency through the rounds will be vital, particularly in the Pro 450 and Pro Open classes where over 40 riders have entered meaning a top three placing in each round will be the aim in order to avoid the cut-throat repechage, or even worse elimination.

It will be barely less competitive in both ATV classes and Pro 250s where there will be three heats per round, or the Under 19s which will feature two heats per round.

The smaller entry in the Womens class, the majority of them from Queensland, will see their title decided over five rounds with cumulative points deciding the outcome, so again one poor round will prove costly in the overall result.

All eight championship winners from the 2013 Championship meeting staged at Gunnedah have entered for this weekend’s Taree showdown – but all will face tough opposition from other former champions and an elite group of talent all striving to win their first national crown.

Kurri Kurri rider Luke Richards will put two titles on the line as he seeks to win a seventh consecutive Pro 250 crown, as well as a third Pro Open crown.

Vastly experienced Taree rider Ian Bisley is the one that the big entry list in the Pro 450 class will be out to dethrone. Among his opposition is brother Ken, a multiple champion himself.

Macleay District rider Kane Burns and Gold Coast rider Jessica Shepherd both have the opportunity of becoming the first ever dual champion in the two newest classes – the Under 19s and Womens class respectively.

Corey and Tom Banks won the Dirt Track Sidecar Championship in 2009, 2011 and 2013 – but maybe this year is the turn of Adam and Graham Liebke who won in 2010 and 2012.

South Australian Mel Brandle has had six class wins out of seven over the past four years and continues to be the benchmark in the ATVs. Cessnock rider Toby Hyde was a class winner last year while Taree rider Craig Hill will have a point to prove after being excluded from the placings last year due to his machine being deemed oversize in width.

Paul Caslick (Central Coast), Jace Castles (North Brisbane), Luke Gough (St George), Rowan Tegart (Mildura) and, if fit, Michael Kirkness (Taree) are all expected to be in the mix for adding to their impressive records.
Gunnedah rider Ben Hammond steps out with an Under 19 crown to his credit, while clubmate Darryl Woodhead is a previous sidecar winner, as is Sydney rider Brett Moir, making a total of 19 of this weekend’s competitors who have previously won an Australian Dirt Track Championship.  

Much interest will be focused on Troy Bayliss who, despite having reached the dizzy heights of the sport on the world stage, has never won an Australian Championship in any discipline of the sport.

He will be out to remedy that in the Pro 250, Pro 450 and Pro Open classes.
Besides Bayliss, ACT rider Ian Hamilton and Marty McNamara (Kurri Kurri) stand out as consistently successful dirt track riders who have, so far, never managed to win a national title.

Superbike rider Joshua Hook (Taree) is hoping to build on his showing in Troy Bayliss classic appearances.

Besides the championship racing there will also be four support classes – three junior classes and one at the other end of the age spectrum for the Over 35s.

© Copyright

Top of Page

Dirt Track Racing
More News
Dirt Track Racing: Youth Prevails - But Don’t Write Off The Oldies.
Dirt Track Racing: Racers Are Coming To Test Locals This Weekend.
Dirt Track Racing: Champions Shine At Temora Grand Slam.
Dirt Track Racing: Temora To Welcome Best Of The Best
Cycle Speedway: Birmingham Removed From The Elite.
Dirt Track Racing: NSW Junior Track Championships Is On This Weekend.
Dirt Track Racing: Central Coast Cup Turns On Another Thriller.
Dirt Track Racing: Central Coast Cup Is On This Weekend.
Dirt Track Racing: Herfoss Wins North Brisbane Cup.
Dirt Track Racing: Sheene Jr at Rye House.
Dirt Track Racing: At Last - Bayliss Wins Aussie Title(S).
Dirt Track Racing: Dirt Track Stars Head To Taree.
Dirt Track Racing: Dirt track riders slide into Townsville this weekend.
Dirt Track Racing: Gun Youngsters Sign Off .
Dirt Track Racing: Big Guns Heading To Victorian Dirt Track Titles.
Dirt Track Racing: Report - 2013 Australian Classic Dirt Track Championships.
Dirt Track Racing: Classic Dirt Track Titles Will Be Big.
Dirt Track Racing: A Gas Time Coming At Dirt Track Titles.
Dirt Track Racing: AMA Vintage Dirt Track National Championship Series wraps up with Cuddebackville, N.Y., doubleheader Sept. 21-22.
Dirt Track Racing: Springfield, Ill., to host AMA Dirt Track Grand Championships May 28-31.